https://doi.org/10.24928/2017/0130

How BIM-Lean Integration Enhances the Information Management Process in the Construction Design

Sajedeh Mollasalehi1, Anushka Rathnayake2, Ahmed Adel Aboumoemen3, Jason Underwood4, Andrew Fleming5, Udayangani Kulatunga6 & Paul Coates7

1PhD Candidate, School of the Built Environment, University of Salford, UK, s.mollasalehi1@edu.salford.ac.uk
2PhD Candidate, School of the Built Environment, University of Salford, UK, prasadini88salford@gmail.com
3PhD Candidate, School of the Built Environment, University of Salford, UK, a.a.aboumoemen@edu.salford.ac.uk
4Professor, School of the Built Environment, University of Salford, UK, j.underwood@salford.ac.uk
5Senior Lecturer, School of the Built Environment, University of Salford, UK, a.j.fleming@salford.ac.uk
6Senior Lecturer, School of the Built Environment, University of Salford, UK, u.kulatunga@salford.ac.uk
7Fellow Higher Education Academy, School of the Built Environment, University of Salford, UK, s.p.coates@salford.ac.uk 539

Abstract

The construction industry faces significant challenges due to insufficient processes. Design phase is a key process of construction project lifecycle in which many problems and challenges occur. Most of the issues within the design process are mainly due to poor information management process. Therefore, it is important to adopt new innovative technologies and processes to improve information management. Over the last decade, the number of projects implementing innovative and technological processes such as BIM and Lean has been increased. However, rather applying BIM and Lean independently, integration of BIM features with lean principles would bring more benefits to the design process in terms of improving information management. This paper studies the potential benefits of integrating BIM and Lean to improve information management in terms of reducing construction design problems associated with information management challenges.

Keywords

Lean construction, Building Information Modelling (BIM), Information management (IM)

Files

Reference

Mollasalehi, S. , Rathnayake, A. , Aboumoemen, A.A. , Underwood, J. , Fleming, A. , Kulatunga, U. & Coates, P. 2017, 'How BIM-Lean Integration Enhances the Information Management Process in the Construction Design' In:, 25th Annual Conference of the International Group for Lean Construction. Heraklion, Greece, 9-12 Jul 2017. pp 531-538

Download: BibTeX | RIS Format